They have you play a game, it was called something like "Your Pathway to Success". It was silly and pointless. Then we read a bunch of cards, watched a bunch of movies, took a quick walk on the floor, and got to see the back stockroom, which I was amazed they have as I been told "Sir we do not have stock in the back of the store, when I have asked for them to check" plenty of times in my life. The Union video is pretty funny. They are so anti-union it is sad they made a video to pretty much brain wash people. Then the instructor told us why she hated Unions, which she admitted she has never been in one or knows much about them, but to her she would not be able to do her job from the stories she has heard. Which is totally false, I'm not 100% for Unions but they are not that bad. Then she talked how that we are never to sign anything when they come in, then she back tracked to say, well if you really want to then you have that right. Then she again mentioned how she sees no need for them in Wal-Mart. Also in one of the videos pretty much said you do not need a 3rd voice because at Wal-Mart you have an Open Door policy (from what I have read it is totally a BS policy).
I did not like that they took the WHOLE day to get me the schedule. That every other weekend I need, yep they got me scheduled for every weekend. The schedule goes for 3 weeks out. So pretty much it is a crap shoot what hours you get. I did not feel that I could bring that up there as there were 6 other people...I did not want to look like the bad guy giving trouble. I also don't like the fact they assumed I had a 100% totally opened schedule since they called me in such a short notice. One girl said she applied online before she went back to school, they told her to fill out an Availability sheet...and she was told pretty much this is what it is right now. Also we were told that you HAVE to give 3-4 weeks notice if you need time off or to be scheduled around something....so pretty much I would of been told no anyways and maybe when they get to the next scheduling period.
The instructor and the Personnel lady said they hated their last job. The instructor claimed to have worked at Kohl's and they would make her come in no matter what. She said at Wal-Mart no one makes you and no one will pressure you into coming in. But then what about the whole lecture on getting coached and how pretty much everything is considered a Non-excused tardy. The personnel lady said she came from the banking sector and that unlike there, at Wal-Mart she can advance within the company.
They really stress about working off the clock and how that is a big no, no. Also you are made to take your lunch within the 4.99 hours of work, most take it after 4 to 4.5 hours of work. You also HAVE to take your two paid 15 minute breaks. My feelings is, I rather go home 30 minutes early then take two 15 minute breaks. heck same with lunch, but I guess the state wants to make sure you have the ability to eat. I guess all this can be a coaching, and you can get fired.
Good thing is I been in contact with a very nice lady at a staffing agency, and I flat out told her NO WEEKENDS, and I have an interview tomorrow for that. Do I feel bad that I will be blowing Wal-Mart off, no, not really I'm in training and other Associates are not counting on me. I'm scheduled for the CBL's for 10 hours, two days. I probably feel worse if I already did the job and I was pulling the no show, well I do plan to call tomorrow when I get up and just let them know it will not work. I will explain how I wanted Part-time and with more thinking that is all I want...maybe they will say okay, however I will also let them know my schedule is a little more complicated then I originally thought and I need a steady constant scheduling/work days and hours.
Believe me I would of saved them money if they would of handed me the schedule first thing. *shrug* There loss.
No comments:
Post a Comment